You Humvee it and I’ll play along

Here’s the latest of my scenics built on a coaster. Now last time I posted one of these and mentioned it on the forums there was some small confusion over what a coaster actually was. It’s like a place mat for a plate but for a cup or glass, it’s a heavy version of a beer mat, and it looks like these. That fascinating subject address onward with the important bit – the bit about toys!A while back I was granted entrance to the Fenris Games tiny bag of miscasts, and seeing a pair of these grabbed them, ran from the building and haven’t been back since. The boy slug grabbed one leaving me with the other but we both had the same bright idea i.e. “What a wonderful opportunity for a wrecked Humvee.”.  So I took it, a coaster, one section of the Fenris damaged Jersey barrier set and started work.

First I cut a piece of plasticard the shape and size of the coaster, having finished the piece I wish I’d filled the edges as the lip on this is the only bit I don’t like, and them cut a hole in it with some dramatic cracks rippling out from it, stuck it on the coaster having dug out the hole a little and them worked on it a bit with some green stuff. Bish on the lonely wheel, bosh on the barrier, and bash on the painted Humvee.

The bullet holes are drilled but the shattered windscreen is painted, a few additional pieces of debris scattered around and the piece is ready rather quickly. The figures are TAG SWAT but with a little modding with greenstuff. I would link to them but they can’t be arsed to answer my email so I can’t be arsed to link to the slackers.

The tyre was drilled out to look like that, with a tiny piece of greenstuff added, although I could have got away with just the holes.

In the end a lovely little barricade for folk to shelter behind… I feel a visit to Jihadistan is on the horizon.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “You Humvee it and I’ll play along”

  1. Michael Awdry Says:

    Another great ‘coaster creation’ and lovely tutorial. The blown out tyre just makes it for me.

    All the best,

    Michael

  2. I can’t believe it’s not Buddha « Says:

    […] other coaster scenics can be seen here, and here. There’s at least one more of these to come, so keep ‘em peeled game […]

  3. Mustafa Battle « Says:

    […] the Allies it didn’t start well at all. The US Recon unit was reduced to a smoking wrecked Humvee by the time the Brits arrived. Daring Dan’s recce quad found the only anti-vehicular mine by […]

Leave a Reply

