Rubble and Concrete

It’s been quite a productive week here at 6mil mansions. First I bashed out these three small rubble piles, which were very quick after the ruin set which took a full week to put together. The result can be found over at the Slug site.

Also a couple of pieces I needed for an approaching 6mm game. So rather than just make the pieces for my own use I decided to make pieces I could cast from. This is also handy for my pillbox needs, as I don’t fancy building more than one of them.

The sharp-eyed amongst you might have noticed how there’s no opening on the bunker, a deliberate step as I wanted it for something a bit different, but I have build a gun port for it, which I’ll attach to a casting and make another mould from, and that’ll be a proper gun toting bunker.

This Radar station is what I wanted, so you can see my thinking. The screen for this was some of that brass etched stuff which is getting cheaper. If you do try something like this my top tip is make sure your brass is totally flat before working it. Mine wasn’t but I added the plastistrip anyway and then I had to flatten both that and the metal.

Not totally finished though, I’m tempted to come back with a simple camoflage scheme, but it’s ready for a game.  Both these pices can also be found over at the other place.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Rubble and Concrete”

  1. Michael Awdry Says:

    Love the radar station; looks spot on! How did you do the bricks in top rubble pile, individually cut?

    • 6milphil Says:

      Yes the bricks are individual pieces laid over a miliput mound. I’ve also experimented with plasticine and making the mould directly by pressing a brick repeatedly in it. Then cast that in plaster and it worked quite well.

Leave a Reply

