Saxon Legs

The motor pool for our Jihadistan campaign has swollen with the addition of this brilliant Saxon APC from Sloppy Jalopy having been originally created by Uncle Crouchie. Although the Saxon is out of service, and not really ultra modern, it is one of my favourite British vehicles. Luckily Jihadistan is fictional so I can have any kit I want… hurrah! This kit is a resin hull with metal detailing, all bar the wheels easy to put together with most parts fitting well.

Working out exactly how the wheels fitted was the hardest part. The instructional drawing was a sketch which measured about one and a half inches square. I spent ages working out how to fit the suspension bars, the axles and the connecting driveshaft. I was happy with it until it came to fit the wheels as I’d wrongly sited the whole lot by about 2mm and the rear wheels wouldn’t fit. I ending up having to bosh it. Either way the wheels do feel delicate so I made have to come back and fit those more solidly.

The crewman is from Old Glory UK, one of their slowly growing modern British range. Andy did apologise for it’s slow evolution but it grows at an agreeable pace as far as I do things, so no raids on piggy banks for a small pewter Pyrenees which doesn’t get painted for a year. I found it and the ones I have in hand for a Warrior very easy to work with, especially after the problems I had with the ones I previously used.

I added a stowage bin to the back mainly because they tended to have them, even though all the X-marked boxes are stowage too, but also because I could fill it with some of the S&S stowage bits. I highly recommend the stowage sets, they’re all metal and feature everything you might need, some bits you hadn’t thought of and there’s loads of pieces.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Saxon Legs”

  1. Burkhard Says:

    Looking real good!

    When I read the title, I was expecting something different, though. It is strange… I am more of a modern and not a medival man. 😉

Leave a Reply

