Merkel’s Marauders

This is a helter skelter of a project. I was looking for some allied troops to join my Brits in our Jihadistan campaign and given how everything seems to be seppo-centric wanted something which wasn’t Yank. Then Lead Adventure Miniatures brought out some modern German Marines which are delicious, I decided to add a little support to them with some Eureka.  I picked both up at Salute and away I went.

Next was a visit over to Lead Adventure Forums where Cherno was very helpful in explaining the kit of the modern Deutsches Heer as well as offering up a sample of their desert camoflage “Wüsten” which is almost a peadot in style. So I set my paintbrush fluttering and put around one hundred touches on each figure and very happy with it I was too. My favourite detail was the commanders Ramms+ein bandana (top left). Then I came to varnish them and they whited out, as if they’d been posted to the North Pole. I set furiously to them to get the white varnish off, then had to touch them up and aside from taking some poor photos off them lost interest and enthusiasm. I’ll come back to them eventually, but brush varnish on such a detailed paintjob next time. Great figures, decent pj, poor varnish… grrr!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Merkel’s Marauders”

  1. Burkhard Says:

    Top job Phil. I read that olive oil works against the fogging, but I am not sure if you can varnish them afterwards of if you can even wash that off!

  2. 6milphil Says:

    Luckily a brisk use of a toothbrush did the job, but a morale dampener. Took me two weeks to even post them. Mumble, groan, whine…

Leave a comment