Troops Out… for the lads

It’s been a productive week on the Jihadistan front, bolstering the good guys with quite a selection of manufacturers and starting with this HMG from Brooks Miniatures. A very sweet support team which I don’t think my photography does justice to.

Again I’ve mounted them on a 40mm Fenris Games laser-cut ply base with various stones and tufts.

The Assault Group figures have become my favourite range for Modern Brits with a wide range even if I only use the helmeted ones. Four more have joined my ranks.

This is their prone pack with a SAW, an HMG, a bog standard SA80/L85 and a very neat sniper.

These have been painted but not based (awaiting bases) but you get the idea.

These will be finished off with the usual stones, sand and tufts.

blahHere’s the Empress Javelin Team which I’ve had unpainted for too long and it’s a handy addition to the forces.

Sadly these chaps come without weapons so I’ve added a couple of Hasslefree guns. Otherwise I’d worry about their personal safety.

The spare Javelin is a nice touch. This team comes with two other figures…

…this chap with a shotgun and a slung SA80 and another sniper. There’s something about snipers which I adore. I have far too many for a proper OoB but so what? They’re fun.

Finally a pack of Brooks Miniatures via Old Glory UK. I wanted a few more plain and simple squaddies with just SA80s to fill out the sections and these suit perfectly. I’ve painted these all in the new MTP camo, I’m not sure how accurate I’m doing it but it looks right to me and I’ve got it down to quite a rapid paint technique. Missing the big military shows over the last couple of years I’ve not had a good look at it, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

Here’s a comparison shot of individual figures, TAG, Empress, Brooks, LAM German Marine, Eureka German Bundeswehr.

And one of support teams; Empress, Brooks and TAG.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Troops Out… for the lads”

  1. Burkhard Says:

    Looking real good!

    Never knew Empress did a Javelin… something I need to buy afer all!

    Are you sure the MG is from TAG? They one I git from the, is a GPMG mounted onna tri-pod, while this is a .50 cal and the crew is different, too. Since TAG said (in a rather insulting manner) that they would not anything new for their modern range and since Richard Ansell no longer works for them, I doubt they added to the range.

  2. Michael Awdry Says:

    Very nicely done! I know what you mean about snipers too, always my favourite.

  3. 6milphil Says:

    Burhard: You’re quite right, you and Matakishi pointed this out and I’ve corrected it.

  4. Yann Hoarau Says:

    Hi,

    Your paint job could benefit a brown wash. 😉

    Nice minis.

Leave a Reply

