Zombie Mob News

DSCF2535At last I’ve completed the Blue Moon zombie set which were my first purchase of zombies and what a pile of fun they’ve proved to be. To see them all together is a joy, and I’m thinking around one hundred zombies would be the best amount to collect to be able to get a good game on. I’m posting many of them in bigger photos with front and rear views, it’s the way Bryan does it over at his blog, but he’s effectively insane when it comes to zombies so I’m not so sure how long I’ll be doing it for.

DSCF2501

The chap on the left has been given a full face rip, while the two young ladies are pretty straightforward. The interesting point about all zombie paint jobs is it’s hard to imagine a bad way to paint them. This isn’t a slight on anyone’s painting, more a call to freeform painting, nor is it to say the sculpting is poor as it’s top notch on these, the only mild observation is how many have banana hands.

DSCF2502

Nothing special on the rear bar the mucky stringy mess on the foot of the lady in the middle, which is a mix of general purpose adhesive and that Tamiya Clear Red everyone raves about.

DSCF2504

A pretty trio, the soldier on the left was painted by the boy slug, and rather smartly I think. The chap on the right has been lucky enough to have some guts added.

DSCF2505Many of these have open hands screaming out for the addition of a few guts, and I’ve tried a few ways of doing it which I’ll share in a later post. What I must mention is how the lack of uniformity to the zombie genre makes them a very good proposition for a group project, Slug’s soldier and the others he’s done fit right in with the ones I’ve done.

DSCF2508A couple of these have featured before, but I think these photos are probably better. I can’t put my finger on it but I find something really funny about a zombie missing a shoe.

DSCF2509A small amount of goop has been added to the ladies charming stump.

DSCF2513Three very good figures, the first another Slug job, the others by me. Plenty of exposed bones on mine plus an added trophy organ.

DSCF2514Missing chunks aplenty, first chaps lost the back of his skull so no more University Challenge for him, middle bloke has a hole in his arse, while the dude on the end has lost a lot of lower leg.

DSCF2517The final three close-ups with lots of wounds all screaming out for a good dab. Typically I’m painting zombies internals pink, brushing that with a red blood and after matt varnishing coming back and high lighting with Tamiya Clear Red, which dries both translucent and high gloss and gives the look of fresh running blood.

DSCF2518This trio waves goodbye as we reach the end of this post. I highly recommend this Blue Moon set of figures, which I haven’t seen mentioned as much as other ranges. Twenty well sculpted figures for around a quid a piece and suitable as addition to any Zombie hoarde or as a starter set.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Zombie Mob News”

  1. Vampifan Says:

    Truly outstanding work, Phil and a great start to your zombie horde. What I particularly like is the addition of entrails and internal organs that you’ve added to those zombies with open hands. It’s an idea that I shall be copying from you, for sure. A tutorial would be great but I have a good idea how to go about it myself. Oh, and excellent use of TCR – you just can’t go wrong with it.

  2. sho3box Says:

    Hi Phil

    I would love to know how you made the guts in the fourth picture from the top. Did it take you long?

    Your figures are looking good.

  3. 6milphil Says:

    I’m going to do a how to on guts really soon, not least because it’s really easy and quick.

Leave a comment