Rocket Man

With Salute 2012 now a happy memory and a dent to the wallet it’s time to crack on with what we spent our cash on. The boy Slug beat me in the race with his Dwarves from Akula, while I’ve been slower off the mark. One thing I did manage in my consumerism was to get the rest of the Taliban, or Afghan Guerillas as they call them, from Eureka. So now I have every piece they make and I’m euphoric about them, so much so as to have painted some already.

It was good to see the Eureka gang at Salute but my being prearmed with sarcasm about the Ashes, Ricky Pontin, and many other antipodean delights proved to be a waste of time. I didn’t know that Nic from Eureka was from Yorkshire, and I’d left my Geoff Boycott gags at home. Alongside him were two seppos, and one solitary Aussie who lived in London. A genuine surprise but so cosmopolitan as to be delicious. Unfortunately Kosta Heristanidis wasn’t there so compliments galore for his great sculpting had to be tolerated by everyone else.

There really is something about Kosta’s work which I find delightful, good sculpting is only part of it -both in detail and charactor, there’s also something aboput painting them with every fold and line fitting my brush as if to tempt the paint into place. With some figures painting can be a chore, with these it’s an encouraged caress.

This piece, as I imagine you’ve gathered, is the rocket launcher. There’s a pair of loaders, the launcher plus all the bits and bobs to turn this base into a mini diorama. The launchers is eleven pieces of metal which all fit together first time, and there’s only the tiniest of mould lines on the figures. I can’t recommend these enough. However if the idea of ordering all the way from Victoria worries you try the Isle of Wight instead.

Again I’ve based this on a laser zapped custom sized base from Fenris Games, they’re a great idea well priced and give you as much room as you want. I like mine small as possible and really busy – Job Done!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Rocket Man”

  1. Burkhard Says:

    Lovely! Strange… I think I can hear Sir Elton John singing somewhere! 😉

Leave a comment