He ain’t heavy, he’s my loader…

Here’s a couple more Afghan support weapons by Eureka which I picked up at Salute 2012.   They’re the usual joy to paint, even if my photos aren’t very good. The recoiless rifle is on a very big base, and there’s a big space near the loader because the ammo box wasn’t in the bag.

Thankfully Nic at Eureka was happy to send me one all the way from Australia, not that I’ve had time to paint and add it. The weapon was a little tricky to get together right but plenty of testing was the way to do it, with gentle tweaks to get the legs of the two-part tripod the right height.

Here’s the Eureka Afghan mortar, which has one figure sculpted so you can set him up with his hand in the ammo box. Well I was impressed. A much tighter fit on the base which I prefer.

Again a slightly tricky assembly of the weapon with three pieces which have to be glued simultaneously as I see it. Should you glue the tube into the base plate seperately it might not fit onto the bipod without being too splayed. Tricky but not impossible.

Again a fine example of the brilliance of digital photography is the small hair on the base plate while making everything else slightly blurred. The hair has since been removed, imprisoned and under going severe interrogation.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “He ain’t heavy, he’s my loader…”

  1. Burkhard Says:

    Looking lovely… really like the colours. They look real Afghan!

  2. Anibal Invictus Says:

    I love that painting work you’ve done, congratulations

  3. Ulu Elsomalien Says:

    Please stop updating your blog too often with such beauties. I feel ashamed my last post was a month ago and my last gaming session with my toy soldiers was more than 2 weeks ago. Give me some time to paint the nice resin you sent me, finish some AAR for my FNG Ops mod and buy more modern stuff, THEN you can display all your maestro on the interweb !
    Cheers 😛

Leave a comment